Don’t Settle For Mediocrity

“If you’ll not settle for anything less than your best, you will be amazed at what you can accomplish in your lives.” ~Vince Lombardi

Have you been told that your goal is not reachable? Have you been told that your ideas are stupid? Have you been told that you have to have money to go places? Have you been told that there is no possible way you can be a success. Have been told that you are crazy? If you believe any of those or any other phrases like that you are settling for mediocrity. What I want to tell you today is that you don’t have to settle. Settling is a choice. It was Erma Bomberk who said “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.” Let me say this boldly: We weren’t born to settle. Don’t get me wrong challenges will show up. Don’t stop. Keep on moving. The funny thing is that settling is a bad habit that we learn along the way. Then from the learnt behavior, we settle because we have accepted what other tells us about not being good enough or this or that is not possible. Whatever your goal is, it is possible. It was Anthony Robbins, who said,

“I remember the moment my life changed, the moment I finally said, ”I’ve had it! I know I’m much more than I’m demonstrating mentally, emotionally, and physically in my life’.’ I made a decision in that moment which was to alter my life forever. I decided to change virtually every aspect of my life. I decided I would never again settle for less than I can be.”

All you need is a made up mind to drop the bad habit, if you are practicing it. You have too much in you to settle for less than you are. And if you really, really want to be successful, you have to be willing to push yourself a little bit further each day. When you make your mind up to keep going it is a sign that you are on the path of graduating from the habit of mediocrity.

A quote by Maureen Down reads, “The minute you settle for less than you deserve, you get even less than you settled for.” Therefore, you don’t want to settle. You were born to win!

This is what Robert Fritz said about settling, “If you limit your choice only to what seems possible or reasonable, you disconnect yourself from what you truly want, and all that is left is a compromise.”

Will you be on smooth sailing after you decided not to settle? The answer is NO! You will have some days that you will not be your best self and that is normal. In fact, we all have our own imperfections, but settling because someone told you that you weren’t good enough or tell you that you are average. You are an average if you believe that you are! This is what I want to say; if you have stopped believing in yourself or think there is no way to reach the goal-it is time- Time To Get Back Up, Get Back In The Race, Dust Yourself Off and Start Believing Again. Remember, if you want to be a success in life you have to have first you want to believe in yourself. Then be discipline enough to go the course.

Don’t settle for mediocrity.

If you quit from aspiring towards your dreams because someone tell you that you don’t have what it takes to have such a success. You are settling! Don’t let someone decide for you. Your Dreams Are Possible and You Have What it Will Take To Reach The Top!

 

15 responses to “Don’t Settle For Mediocrity

  1. Great post! When a new building “settles”, often small cracks can appear in the walls, around the windows. I say this because as you put it in your post “The minute you settle for less than you deserve, you get even less than you settled for.” When you settle, you become less than you were, less focussed, less strong. Cracks appear and you begin to age.

  2. Amen to that brother,
    We have to be like Peter when Jesus told him to come. Hallelujah!

  3. it is the mark of a wise man to not ask more than is possible to get, but also the mark of a fool to ask less than he should have. a fine balance indeed.

  4. Thanks for your theme. It helped me a lot i was down in my spirit, filled with negative thoughts and looked down at myself. Having read you topic, i’m now renewed in my thinking and have started to think positively.

  5. Reblogged this on AFRICAN LOVE STORIES and commented:
    No one should settle for anything less than the best! A good read

  6. That’s one of the things I taught my kids…NEVER SETTLE. And they never did.

Leave a Reply

