My First Commencement Speech

There is always a first to everything. Well, today was my first time doing a commencement speech and the experience was great! Thanks to the director at Good Foundation Academy for the opportunity. Today’s speech was all about the little kids, but as they performed their poems and dances I could see how jubilant they were. They recited “Don’t Quit” and all the adults that were there got something to leave with, other that being proud of their children. The parents were reminded that, “When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill, when the funds are low and the debts are high, and you want to smile, but you have to sigh, when care is pressing you down a bit – rest if you must, but don’t you quit.”

On the other hand, my speech today was focused mostly on reminding the kids that they can be whatever they want to be and that they are all special. I want to share with you two of the quotes that I shared with the parents during the speech, because children are our future. The first one is by Stacia Tauscher that reads, “We worry about what a child will become tomorrow, yet we forget that he is someone today.” We must pay attention to children today because the early experiences are what shape them and prepare them for tomorrow. The second one is by Forest E. Witcraft which goes like this, “A hundred years from now it will not matter what my bank account was, the sort of house I lived in, or the kind of car I drove…but the world may be different because I was important in the life of a child.” We all have an opportunity to make a positive impact in a child’s life even if we are not yet parents. The children of the future need all the positive support they can get. Today was a great step forward. I enjoyed the experience and am looking forward to giving the commencement speech at my Alma mater in the future.

5 responses to “My First Commencement Speech

  1. Blessings Rich,
    Thanks for sharing this article brother. That is awesome to hear, God is blessing you and using you to bless others as well. Very encouraging. Many blessings to you and yours.

  2. Thank you for the encouraging post. It has given me an answer to a question that I have been going over for the past two weeks. Now I know that I should be a teacher for Vacation Bible School next month, for it is who I am and teaching children is important.

    • Thanks for your comment! It is us as adults that will have to make a great impact positively in the lives of the children, who will in turn make their impact later!

Leave a Reply

