Discovering Hidden Talents

Do you think it is possible to find something new that you can do and will be good at? The answer is absolutely yes! What happens most of the time is that some people sit and refuse to do what they feel to do because they are thinking about what other people will have to say? Doing that is a sure way of short changing yourself. There is something that you can do that you have not tapped into yet.

I remember being in college in Jamaica and having no money to buy some of the basic things I needed. I often contemplated different things I could do, from buying the cash pot hoping I would win to starting my own on-campus store. Well, neither of the two materialized. One afternoon I saw another young man on my dorm floor with hair clippers, and I asked him if it was possible for me to borrow it. The young man said, “Sure,” and I took it and started advertising that I could cut hair. Could I cut hair? Not at the time! I’d never done it before. The only thing for me then was that I believed that I could. Believing is the first step of discovering your hidden talents. It took a few weeks before anybody believed I could do what I said I could do. Never stop believing. My first customer was my friend Millipede; that’s his college nickname. Although he was insisting that I don’t mess his hair up, he gave me the opportunity to prove myself. Sometimes a good friend will be very valuable in helping you show your hidden talent to the world. Well, the rest was history. I then began to cut hair every week and sometimes I had to reschedule appointments. Your hidden talent can be a way to make extra money for you to take care of some of your basic needs. I remember vividly the first sneakers I bought from the money I had saved from my earnings. It was a Nike Presto blue sneaker Imagethat I never wanted to get dirty. I say that to say this, if you can discover something that you are capable of doing, you will be able to capitalize on your untapped talent. Don’t let fear stop you!

On the verge of discovering your hidden talents don’t compare yourself to others. You are unique and that cannot be stressed too much. You have within you talent that if discovered can make a lot of difference in your life. I love what Ralph Waldo Emerson said, “Every artist was first an amateur.” You have to start somewhere. Why not make that somewhere be in the position of where you are in life now. If I had hesitated on the talent I had not known that I had, I would not have made the money I made in college in Jamaica and at college in America. From my earnings here, I bought my first plane ticket back home to Jamaica. So be bold! Others will believe you when you say what you can do confidently. Your true potential is yet to be unleashed.

You are going to be tested in any endeavor you choose to get involved in. The one phrase you want to make sure you remember is “Don’t quit.” If you quit you will not know what you could have accomplished. This quote by Deepak Chopra really says a lot pertaining to you expressing your talent to the world,

“You have a unique talent and a unique way of expressing it. There is something that you can do better than anyone else in the whole world–and for every unique talent and unique expression of that talent, there are also unique needs. When these needs are matched with the creative expression of your talent, which is the spark that creates affluence. Expressing your talents to fulfill needs creates unlimited wealth and abundance.”

Don’t be afraid of trying something new, you may just surprise yourself. What I know to be true is that your talent is a gift from God and once it is discovered, your obligation is to nurture it and share it with the world. Your talent was placed in you for a reason and a good reason too. You have something in you that the world needs…Remember…You will not know if you don’t give it a Go! I know you have talents that you haven’t yet shared with the world!

Therefore, you want to go within and believe in yourself. Maybe you sing in the shower and always wanted to go to karaoke, maybe you want to display your artwork at trade shows, or share your speaking ability at Toastmasters, you may never know what can become of it or whose life you will affect. Just like I was able to earn an income providing a service to friends. It all started with believing first. This quote by Stephen King is so true, where he said, “Talent is a wonderful thing, but it won’t carry a quitter.” You are a WINNER!

 

2 responses to “Discovering Hidden Talents

  1. Blessings Rich,

    Great post brother, we have to believe to receive without doubt brother. Great job. Many blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

