Emotions-Do You Understand Yours?

Emotions. It was while reviewing the chapter that will be covered in my class this week on  that my interest was was sparked and I decided to share what I got from the text. Do you understand your emotions? According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, emotion is defined as “a conscious mental reaction (as anger or fear) subjectively experienced as strong feeling usually directed toward a specific object and typically accompanied by physiological and behavioral changes in the body.” In the text, Your College Experience, a story was shared of a student who came from another country to the United States to study. The student’s experience was challenging at first when making the necessary adjustments but because she could control her emotions and get the understanding of her feelings,  she was able to get through her first year of school without being overly fatigued.

Although this book covers issues that college students may and sometimes will experience, it is good to know as adults how our emotions affect us. As adults we all have different situations to deal with in our daily lives which may trigger our emotions, and ultimately lead us to making decisions. The things is, what type of decisions are you making due to the feelings you’ve been having? Do you understand your emotions? Have you ever reacted in a way and the aftermath was not what was anticipated?

You are in charge of how you react to the feelings you have, and by all means, try to make the best decision possible. It is part of being accountable, therefore you want to understand how your emotions work.

The feelings of being surprised, in fear, stressed, angry, curious, etc. do not only affect students, it also affects you who are not in a classroom. If you can learn, manage or understand your emotions you will be more apt to make appropriate decisions. We all have various emotions to deal with and we respond to our emotions differently. Earl Nightingale puts it like this, “Whatever we plant in our subconscious mind and nourish with repetition and emotion will one day become a reality.” So, if you plant the feeling of being fearful or overwhelmed that is what you are going to reproduce as reality. Likewise, if you plant feelings of joy and amusement, you will have those as your reality. Therefore, you want to pay keen attention to your emotions, because by knowing you will be more aware of the areas of your life you are more competent in and the areas that need improvement. It was Oscar Wild who said, “I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.” Of which we all should aspire to do.

With attention to the book Your College Experience that states, “Emotional intelligence (EI) is the ability to identify, use, understand and manage emotions.” The more acquainted you are with your feelings the better your judgments will be in accordance to your everyday living. Yes, our emotions are tied closely with our physical and psychological well-being. Therefore, your reaction to any situation will either lift you up or pull you down. Which leads to this question- Has your response to any particular situation pulled you down or lifted you up lately?

Part 2. will be on Understanding Your Emotions.

7 responses to “Emotions-Do You Understand Yours?

  1. Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  2. HAHA reading this made me very emotional 🙂 Sometimes I hate my emotions. I have too many and I don’t want or need all of them. However, imagine life without hate, agony, sadness or anger. Without them we wouldn’t appreciate the other end of the spectrum: love, peace, happiness and contentment. Theyre ying and yang.

    • Thanks for commenting. I like what you said about our emotions, in the sense of both do exist within and it is sometimes the experience of sadness or anger that allows us to appreciate love, peace and happiness. True. Ying and Yang.

  3. Just last week which was the first week of school for me, was overwhelming because I kept feeling like I was going to be overwhelmed which made me sad. Then I kept dwelling on becoming overwhelmed, so I was getting even more sad, then sadness happened. But, on Friday, I told myself I was going to get rid of that feeling by devising a plan to get things in order. I did and this week, I am feeling like, “Bring it on; I can do this!” I am now experiencing joyous and peaceful emotions. Hallelujah!

    After reading this post, I now realize that I was recognizing the emotion that was trying to overtake me, but fell to overcome that emotion and just gave in to it. Thanks for this post. It was a blessing to read.

    • Thanks for your comment. I am happy that you found the post helpful. I also will be sharing your comment in my next post because it is some what similar to the one that was in the book that I read that inspire the post. God blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

