Question 9: How Do I Break My Bad Habits?

Question 9. How do I break my bad habits?

Bad habits can be broken, but if they are habits that have been a part of your life for years, they are going to take some time to overcome. We have the power to start new habits, but to make them become a part of our daily lives we have to be patient and at the same time be consistent with our effort. Bad habits are no joke; they can hinder the progress in our lives. We all want to make progress and be productive.

One important thing about breaking bad habits is not to eliminate them but to replace them with new habits that will allow us to make the progress we want in our lives.

  • In order to break a bad habit, you will have to first admit that you have a bad habit that you’d like to stop doing.
  • After recognizing the habit, you will have to find a new habit that you’ll like to replace the existing habit with.
  • Once you decide to start a new habit, share it with someone that will hold you accountable so you can stick with what you said you are going to do.
  • To give your new habit root, you have to be consistent with your effort. Remember, change isn’t going to happen overnight. So, be patient.
  • Once you decide to change your habit, you may also want to change your associations. If you are going to be around the same set of people, you may regress. So, start associating yourself with people who don’t condone your old habit. Remember what they say, birds of a feather flock together.

When you begin your new approach to breaking your bad habits you MUST:

  • Believe in yourself
  • Act in the light of what you want to manifest
  • Decide to do something daily to solidify your new way of life
  • Harness your possibilities with positive thinking
  • Affirm with positive action daily
  • Bear in mind that the process will take some time
  • Apply yourself fully to your new habit
  • Talk positively to yourself, even when the new habit is challenging

Breaking bad habits are possible. If you have a bad habit, don’t feel sorry for yourself, that’s a waste of time. Get busy and apply these steps; for your success to be possible you must believe in yourself.

Before you go: Please share on Facebook/Google+/Twitter. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter. Subscribe to receive email updates.

Thank you for your support!

THE BEST IS STILL WITHIN YOU!

4 responses to “Question 9: How Do I Break My Bad Habits?

  1. This is great! habits lead to iniquity, which is MUCH harder to break. Prevention is key! Good lesson!

  2. Richard, thank you for such positive reinforcements…they truly help me focus.

    Early in my career one of the most damaging aspects of my ‘execution’ of work tasks involved ‘procrastination’…a terribly debilitating habit and an easy one to fall into. I had to discover that the best policy was to “never put off until tomorrow what you can do today.”

    My procrastination, perhaps out of a lack of confidence in my own capabilities, began to surface in the form of client dissatisfaction with my performance level…issues that surfaced in meetings that went unresolved week after week until ultimately that dissatisfaction escalated to my supervisors of the day.

    Until the day I resolved to break that horrible habit of procrastination the “p” word hung across my shoulders like the proverbial monkey on my back. The pressure became almost insurmountable at times until I planted both feet firmly on the ground and decided then and there that tomorrow would be a fresh start and Challenge #1 would be fully resolved before I left the office. I stuck to that conviction and the euphoria at day’s end brought me immediately in mind of the powerful lyrics to a well-known song…
    “I believe I can fly…
    I believe I can touch the sky
    I think about it every night and day
    Spread my wings and fly away
    I believe I can soar
    I see me running through that open door
    I believe I can fly
    I believe I can fly
    I believe I can fly”

    Finally I had conquered that one bad habit that stood in the way of success. We can all fly…it just takes the determination to embrace positive change, positive actions that clear the path to the attainable.

    As you reflected here so clearly, Richard, we must first recognize those bad habits. AND, we need to reinforce and acknowledge good habits each and every day.

    • So, true Don. In regards to procrastination, I got my wake of call when I had a F on my midterm report my second semester in college in the states. I end with a B at the end, but if I didn’t procrastinate I would had an easy A.

      We have recognize what we want to change and thanks again for sharing your positive and kind words we me and others.

      That song I believe I can fly was a song I played almost everyday when I was making my transition in the states to believe I could accomplish anything I put my mind to and as you say, “…it just takes the determination to embrace positive change, positive actions that clear the path to the attainable.”

      Have a bless one!

Leave a Reply

