90 Day Challenge: Day 36 – Are You The Smartest In Your Group?

We need to challenge ourselves.

The people who are doing well at what they love are not unapproachable at all. At first you may want to think they are. They are more welcoming and like when you take the initiative to reach out to them. What happen at times is that even before we make an attempt to connect with the people we want to connect with we find all the excuses there are, thinking that they will not give us the time of day. Well, banish that thought and reach out. 

Challenge Yourself!

Challenge Yourself!

Well, are you the smartest in your group?

The first time I heard the question, “Are you the smartest in your group?” I know I wanted more out of life but it was what the speaker said after changed my perspective on life. That is what you would consider a pivotal moment in your life and it’s a moment you will always remember. He said and not in his exact words because it was years ago, “if you want to achieve more out of life you have to spend more time with those will stretch you, those who will make you to think outside the box.” It was a good thing that I went to the event being a late bloomer. I needed to hear the speaker’s message and I start seeking opportunity immediately.

A week later I joined the toastmasters club at my college and I can tell you the first couple of weeks were very uncomfortable but for some reason I liked the feeling. I knew I was growing and was challenged even more when the members of the club would was asking me questions that I wouldn’t normally think about. In fact, when I started for most of the meetings I was the only student sitting with members who already had more than 10 years’ experience in their profession.

Nevertheless, years of experience or age, race or gender don’t really have much to do with the group that will challenge you, that will make you think outside the box because it boils down to the mindset of the people you are spending your time with. Some people that are younger than you, younger than me will and can teach us a lot of things that we don’t know. Just be open to the possibility of what’s possible because we should be aspiring to be the best that we can be.

It’s time to stretch yourself. Reach for more. Learn more. Step outside your comfort zone.

IT IS POSSIBLE TO GO BEYOND LIMITATIONS. IT MAY NOT BE EASY, BUT IT IS POSSIBLE.

Thank you for your support!

If you like what was shared and think someone else would find it beneficial: Please share on you Facebook/Google+/Twitter. Also, you can Follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

THE BEST IS STILL WITHIN YOU

2 responses to “90 Day Challenge: Day 36 – Are You The Smartest In Your Group?

  1. We indeed have to stretch ourselves Richard. We have to change what we are doing and do more of what needs to be done to improve our situation, achieve higher goals. Wanting more demands more effort, more effective planning and execution. We only get out of life (and career) what we put into…simple logic, simply math.

    Your insights are always so greatly received and appreciated Richard.

Leave a Reply

